My Testimony (from New Years)

Happy New Year!!
(Long Testimony post alert)

Someone asked me today when I got saved which led to me giving my testimony, and I ended up bringing tears to the poor girl’s eyes.

How at age 16 one night I was just ready to not be in this world after a literal lifetime of abuse and degradation and just feeling like the world wouldn’t care if I died or not. God reached out through a televangelist and showed me He was not the God my mom had portrayed him as, that if no one else did He loved and cared for me and was there for me. He carried me through 2 more years of abuse, 2 years homeless, and then 7 more years of being young and dumb and ending up with a man very similar to my mother.

When my ex kicked me out and divorced me and they took Lizzy, my church also broke up and it was just a very dark time for me. I was miserable. I didn’t necessarily blame God but I was mad and determined I could worship God just fine without a church. There’s a casting crowns song that says it’s a slow fade when you give yourself away and I learned the truth of that statement. I slipped into a lifestyle that was very much of the world and fell away from my faith. I never denied belief in God but I wasn’t living for Him either.

3 years ago I started working at a daycare where I met some lovely Christian women who God used to show me that there are actually good God fearing and loving Christians in this world and He used these sweet ladies to soften my heart towards Him and church.

February of this year I needed a break from teaching so I started a career as a security guard, and that’s where I met Luke. I had been hearing about him for a while before I officially met him because my roommate worked with him and when I started at Allied she would often joke that I better not corrupt Luke. Luke and I actually bonded over dad jokes and bad puns and I would save memes for weeks to show him and finally I asked him for his number. After talking for a couple of weeks Luke invited me to his church and I immediately felt that was where I was supposed to be, at Calvary. God convicted me that day that I needed to refuel my soul to be on fire for God and I immediately recommitted and began living the life I knew God wanted me to live.

I’m in the Orchestra playing my flute and I’m in the nursery every so often and I’ve made sure to say hi to everyone at church and try to spread the joy that God gives me every day. I pray that He shines His light so bright through me that anyone who looks at me can’t help but know that my God is great.

I always try to be grateful and optimistic because despite everything I’ve been through there’s so much I’m thankful for always, and especially this year I’m thankful for God’s faithfulness, and for the friendship He gave me with Luke. I’ve never had a best friend like Luke pushing me as we pursue God together and get to know Him more and deeper.

I’m a very very blessed girl and I can’t wait to see what 2024 has in store.

P.S Today makes 5 months no nicotine!!

Happy New Year’s everyone!

, , ,

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started